Writer’s Block: Thing of the Past?

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project
2 min readFeb 5, 2016

One of my biggest fears throughout the course of this project is, Writer’s block.

It seriously plagues me at times, and I fear that it will stifle my efforts to write each day.

I began to ask myself, “How can I make sure this doesn’t happen!?” The answer came to me yesterday as I was explaining the project on Periscope.

I am going to give myself permission to write “garbage”.

You see, writer’s block only happens because we desire our writing to be perfect and without flaw. We want to make sure that we express the right words, construct the right phrases, and convey the right ideas. This is a wonderful thing, but often times it causes our brains to literally shut down.

Therefore, I have made it clear to my brain that it is okay to write “garbage”. Now notice that I put garbage in quotation marks. What you’ll find is when you allow your brain to write garbage, your content WILL NOT be garbage!! It may even be some of your best content! Giving your brain the creative freedom to just write, takes loads of pressure off and allows you to process your thoughts in a clear and concise way.

So bye bye Writer’s block! Get out of my way! Because I don’t know about you, but I have the end goal in sight and I’m pushing towards it.

Are you with me? Let me know your feedback in the comments below.

This post was also sent out to my daily email subscribers of the #WorkOnWriting project. If you would like to receive these emails, please opt in here.

(article originally published at blakecroft.com)

--

--

Blake Croft
#WorkOnWriting Project

🙏🏻 Disciple of Jesus | Future #ChurchPlanter ⛪️| Use Social Media to help others rediscover the GOOD in the #GoodNews of Jesus! | And I'm a Tech nerd! 😜