The spicy life of our interns at Workpath

Pamela Stoyanova
Workpath
6 min readJul 11, 2022

--

Internships come in all shapes and sizes — at big companies, at small companies, at startups. They are the training grounds for the professional “real world”. For many they are the first hands-on experience outside the classroom. That’s why it is essential to create a valuable internship that helps develop not only a professional aptitude, but also strengthens one’s character/personality by providing guidance and mentoring throughout the process. Easier said than done, you might think.

We caught up with current interns and working students at Workpath who readily let us glimpse into their motivation to choose Workpath. As a result, we collected some valuable insights into what makes the internship at Workpath more than just “good enough”.

Without wasting any more time, the overarching answer is centered around a simple to imagine, yet a hard to execute concept: Working with great people on achieving meaningful outcomes anytime, anywhere.

How did you hear about Workpath the first time?

Gemma: A former colleague told me about “this super cool startup where my friend started working” and I checked it.

Somar: The first time I heard about Workpath was through a friend who did an internship as well two years ago.

Pam: Initially, I was exploring internship positions in bigger corporations in Munich. When I was introduced to Workpath, I was impressed by the concept and idea immediately. Having to experience the dynamics of work in a startup company really appealed to me.

What convinced you to join Workpath?

Marissa: I really like the product because of its vision. Also, my recruiter, in my opinion, represented Workpath in a very good way and gave me a good feeling during the hiring process, which is also an important factor to me.

Pam: The team. At the time of the interviews with Workpath I already had an offer from another company, but after the conversations with Paty and Pia I knew that these were the people I wanted to work with. After meeting with Michi in the office in Munich there was no doubt left that Workpath is the right choice.

Wiktoria: How friendly and excited both Pam and Maxi were about their work, they both seemed to me like people that I would like to work with. Also, when talking with both of them, I realised that I could learn a lot when working at Workpath, gain knowledge not only within the finance area but also understand and be able to work well with OKRs.

Louisa: Already at my first interview I was told that I would have the chance to contribute with my own suggestions, be creative and take on responsibility. But also the impressions I got from the team. They were all really nice from the very beginning.

Describe your job in three words.

Louisa: Challenging. Instructive. Fun.

Pam: Important to me.

Ashul: Challenging and Interesting.

Gemma: Grow Workpath’s network.

What are the values that drive you?

Wiktoria: I can definitely resonate with all of them but mostly with “we own things” since I like that people take ownership of their projects, can work independently on what’s important for them and are not micromanaged, and second one “we care for each other”. Even though it is important to be able to work independently, it is also great to know that in case you need any sort of support there are people around you that genuinely want to help you :)

Marissa: My personal favorite is “ownership”. I love to own things and it is super important to me that I have that in my job as well — even if it’s just within an “internship”. Without having responsibilities, I would feel useless as an employee somehow.

What’s the coolest thing you’re working on right now?

Shivam: Prospecting probable leads via special Out-bounding. I like to call it Sniper Shooting ;)

Somar: The coolest things I am currently working on are the reporting/analysis of two of our products. The other is the creation of proposals where I am working closely with the Account Executives on adapting pricing and conditions.

Marissa: Currently, I am conceptualizing a mail journey for our clients. I was responsible for everything along the process, from the brainstorming over designing the layouts, to the final implementation and workflow building.

Louisa: It’s hard to highlight a single task, because I work on very different cool things. Whether it’s creating content for our Facebook account, helping with the personal branding for our CEO or writing articles for well-known magazines.

Best thing about being part of your team?

Somar: I have lots of responsibility within the team, which means that I don’t need approval every time I have completed something. Having different projects which I can lead myself results into having a better understanding of the product and how we operate as a rising enterprise .

Emre: Having an insight into the financials of Workpath helps to see how actions are driven.

Shivam: Flat hierarchy — makes it easy to communicate with the CEO, my boss and my colleague with the same openness.

What’s one thing that surprised you about working at WP?

Gemma: How remote-friendly the company is and using Mac for working (Mac lover over here)!

Wiktoria: How international the team is (that was a good surprise, I really enjoy working in a diverse team).

Louisa: First I wasn’t sure if I would get along with the different subjects, but tech is actually fun.

Who would you most like to swap places with for the day?

Shivam: I would love to Swap Places for one day with Johannes. It would be a great learning curve for me.

Marissa: Probably Johannes. I would love to see how a day in the life of a CEO looks like in action.

Emre: Would like to get an insight of a CEO in a company. How much time he really invests into the company and how hard it is to lead one.

Louisa: Someone who works on developing the software, because I can’t imagine what exactly they need to do, how they do it and what else is involved in the process.

Tell us something we don’t know?

Wiktoria: — About me: my favorite music artists include Gorillaz, FKA Twigs and Mura Masa (just some of them, the list could be much longer ;)) A random fun fact that I’ve learned: you can’t hum while holding your nose

Shivam: Can cook some delicious Chicken Tandoori

Ashul: The location of the office in Munich is so great in terms of finding great and different food during lunch hours!

Marissa: By working with OKRs, our company has such a high level of transparency, I do not think there’s anything you don’t know haha.

If this article made you curious to find out more about Workpath or if you are interested in a working student position, feel free to have a look at our job openings. We are also glad to keep you posted about future job opportunities. Feel free to therefore join our talent pool or send a mail to jobs@workpath.com.

--

--