Course Scholarships: Equality Matters

Help me get this into the right hands, please

Louise Schriewer
Work. You. Love.
4 min readMay 5, 2021

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

The earth is the mother of all people, and all people should have equal rights upon it.―Chief Joseph

Art. 1 Sentence 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights reads:

“All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.”

The United Nations General Assembly proclaimed this milestone document on 10 December 1948. Fast forward over 72 years and we seen that this is unfortunately still not the living reality for many people.

As someone who has lived in different parts of the world and who has an international law background, I’m acutely aware that opportunities are not equally distributed.

If you were born in a rich country or not, if you are able to speak English, your socioeconomic background, the color of your skin, and so many other things that shouldn’t matter severely hamper people’s chances in life.

It’s so easy to feel helpless in the face of such a huge problem and such a gross injustice. There have definitely been times when I’ve felt a sense of helplessness (alongside grief and anger) about it.

At one point, I realized that there was something I wanted to do. As you might know, a while ago I created a course titled “The Passion Path” where I take people on a journey to getting their passion project out into the world and to begin getting paid for doing what they love.

I created this because I think all of us have something so important to contribute to the world… and we need you and your gifts!

We need your voice, we need your purpose, we need YOU.

For a while, I’ve dreamed of creating something that can help people worldwide taking those steps… basically, I’d love to create a global community of people who want to make a positive difference. I would also want it to be accessible so it has to take into account the global wealth parity.

And even though I’m not there yet at all, a long journey always begins with the first step.

Scholarship / Giveaway

That’s why I’d like to give a free scholarship to my course to 5 people who either:

A) haven’t had fair opportunities in life for whichever reason,

AND/OR

B) want to start a project that supports equality, for instance, by helping disadvantaged groups or by reducing a form of discrimination such as racism, sexism, homophobia, transphobia, speciesism, etc.

Please note that this is a general course about how to start a passion project so it’s not specifically designed for the situations I just mentioned.

This is a self-study course with videos and other material. To get the most out of it, you need an internet connection that allows you to play videos at low-resolution (if that’s not doable for you, you can still get something out of the course, such as by reading through YouTube’s automatic transcriptions).

The course is in English but if your English is not good enough to follow along or if you need help for reasons other than language (such as physical abilities), you’re welcome to go through the course with a friend or family member who can help you with that.

The only ask I have is this: if you get a scholarship, please make a commitment to go through the course and use it. This commitment is to and for yourself, not to or for me.

If the course content doesn’t work for you, that’s totally fine and there’s no need to finish it but please do give it your sincere effort first.

In terms of process, I will keep this giveaway open for 30 days. That’s one day for each article of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

During that time, I plan to give access to at least 5 people who fill out the form you can find at the bottom of this page and fulfill the requirements. If I get more qualified applications than that, I will pick the ones that are most aligned with my desire for a more equal world and most clearly fulfill the criteria I mentioned.

Next steps

→ If you fall into one or both of the categories above and would like to participate, please fill out the form here. If you encounter any problems with the form, you can also leave me a comment there.

→ If you would like to get access to the course but don’t qualify for this giveaway, you can get the course at pay-what-you-can-pricing. I’d love to have you with us!

→ I also have a free mini-course you can sign up for here.

If you know people who should get a scholarship, please share this with them.

Thank you!

Bere

--

--

Louise Schriewer
Work. You. Love.

I love helping people overcome their struggles and have a joyful life. Professional wizard (I mean, coach…) who used to be a lawyer: workyoulovecoach.com