Now or Never

The answer is now!

Felipe Schmitt
World Adventure

--

I owe it to some people to let them know the real reason behind this adventure. First of all, as a lot of people know is my passion and infinite desire to know other cultures and explore the world. Secondly and the one that only few knew so far, is because I don’t feel that I fit in the “normal” world. The one where people after university hope to find a job and when an opportunity arises, that isn’t necessarily their dream jobs or what they really want to do in life, we are ought to take it, part of it because of the current economic instability, but part of it because it is easier to settle down and get some stability and at the same time fool ourselves by saying: “It’s not that bad, I am gaining experience and saving money. Money that will allow me to follow my dreams and do my projects in the future.”

But that is not entirely true. There will always be an excuse to make stay in our comfort zone and it’s outside of it that an adventure begins. I am not criticizing people that prefer stability to adventure, after all we need a bit of both to live in harmony. Just don’t fool yourselves with excuses, accept who you are and if you are up for an adventure, my advice is to take at least two days of self analysis about what you really want in life and follow it without any regrets. No shame on that.

I am writing this on the seat 7D of an Airbus 320 heading to my first stop of my journey, heading to Budapest.

Everything is starting to become real. Although It doesn’t really feel that way, a part because I’m for now just visiting my friends in Hungary and after that I’ll be in a new country, one that I’ve never been before, but I’m lucky enough to be there at the same time as my father. To be honest, I believe that it will only truly hit me either on the 10th of May, when my lonely journey really begins, or on the 15th when I arrive in Bangkok.

I’ll keep you posted of my adventures, lessons and acquaintances along the way.

--

--

Felipe Schmitt
World Adventure

Software engineer ~ Travel Enthusiast ~ 75+ countries visited, 6+ lived in.