A Newark Shaper in San Francisco #ShapersinSF

Q&A with the SF Shapers

Newark Shaper and President of Code for Newark Zay Little (Zay) visited San Francisco in May for the Code for America Summit. He took some time to answer a few questions for the San Francisco Hub blog series, #ShapersinSF.

Photo courtesy of Zay Little

What’s your name? Zay, Isaiah Little

Which hub are you from? Newark

What brings you to San Francisco? Couple conferences, family, and love for the Bay

What are you working on? Aside from myself and Shaper work, GalleryRetail/Newark First Fridays and Code for Newark

What’s your why? My communities; coming from a big family I know the collective is important. Inclusion and collective economics is pivotal to us all.

What does being a part of the Global Shapers Community mean to you? It means making all our collective work and issues interconnected; so we can actually spur change the only way we can, together.

What is something you want readers to know about you? I am many things, some of which I am still learning myself.

What kind of impact to you want to make on the world? I aim to make it in the image of myself and peers; a mixed bag of fun and creativity. [Tad more specifically] Utilizing technology and the creative arts to invest in community planning.

What’s the toughest challenge you are facing right now? Funding or self-funding projects.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received? Be the change.

For what in your life do you feel most grateful? My family and upbringing; with those two I feel the ability to do anything, go anywhere.

Something you wish we asked but didn’t? A: How can we help each other? AND What are we eating!?

--

--

Newark Global Shapers
World Economic Forum Global Shapers San Francisco Hub

The Global Shapers Community is a network of young leaders in Newark NJ between 20 and 30 years old who want to undertake local projects supported by WEF.