Hi, I’m Nicholas Platoff and I’m a San Francisco Global Shaper

Photo courtesy of Nicholas Platoff

What’s your name?

Nicholas Platoff

What brought you to San Francisco?

I moved to SF in August 2016 to start as Associate Principal Trombone with the San Francisco Symphony.

What are you working on?

SF Symphony performs at least three or four concerts a week, but I’m passionate about a lot of side projects as well. I work as the low brass coach for the SFS Youth Orchestra and also teach trombone lessons privately. I recently started recording my own music at home.

What’s your passion/what matters to you? And why? (Or what’s your why?)

Music is by far the most important thing in my life, so I love sharing it with as many people as possible. I’m working with an exceptional team of Shapers to bring music to the homeless community of San Francisco. Music can be such a powerful and positive force for the human spirit, so I really believe everyone should have access.

What are you hoping to get out of your Global Shapers experience?

To keep meeting fascinating folks who do inspiring work in different fields. These people are badasses!

What is something you want readers to know about you?

I love cheese!!

Check out Nick’s #SFshapers Instagram takeover last month!

--

--

SF Global Shapers
World Economic Forum Global Shapers San Francisco Hub

Committed to improving the state of the world, we are the San Francisco hub of the @WEF @GlobalShapers community http://sfshapers.com