My visit in San Francisco and Q&A with Global Shapers SF

I visited San Francisco in the beginning of April and Global Shapers San Francisco Hub asked me to do a Q&A with them. The Global Shapers Community, an initiative of the World Economic Forum, is a network of hubs developed and led by young people who drive to make a contribution to their communities. I’m a happy member of Helsinki Hub.

  1. What’s your name?

Hi! My name is Katja Toropainen

2. Which hub are you from?

Helsinki, Finland

3. What brings you to San Francisco?

I’m working at Slush, Europe’s leading startup and tech conference, organised every November in Helsinki. With our team we came to San Francisco for a week. We met up with friends, previous and upcoming speakers and partners and had an amazing time!

4. What are you working on?

My top one priority this year is to curate the program for Slush 2017 and lead our team in doing that. On top of that, I’m an active member at Global Shapers Helsinki Hub and the current Chairman of Luova Aalto, which is a student community I co-founded at university. The aim of it is to encourage people to try new things, have fun and learn along the way. So far we have organised events such as music coding brunch, cooking and creativity clubs. Has been an enjoyable journey so far!

5. What’s your passion/what matters to you? And why?

I want to do purposeful things and contribute to the wellbeing of the world. I hope to be able to contribute to the educational matters and take in part making the world more inclusive and equal place to live. Currently I’m the most passionate about the possibility to inspire thousands of attendees of Slush through building the program and making the experience unforgettable. This post pretty much sums up what we’re up to this year!

6. What does being a part of the Global Shapers Community mean to you?

The Global Shapers is an amazing community filled with warm and courageous people who want to contribute to important matters. Being part of this group of people all around the world means a lot to me. I feel privileged to have met so amazing people thanks to the community and look forward to meeting more of you.

7. What is something you want readers to know about you?

I love traveling, nature and sleeping well. And I’m super curious about things such as learning and creativity!

--

--

Katja Toropainen
World Economic Forum Global Shapers San Francisco Hub

Founder of Inklusiiv. Inclusive technology & finance. Past: Chief Curator @SlushHQ. Books, nature & sports.