School gardens, education, and me

New World Food Programme school gardening initiative in South Sudan sows seeds for a brighter future

Saddal Diab
World Food Programme Insight
4 min readOct 17, 2019

--

WFP’s new gardening initiative has started to bear fruit and other fresh produce in parts of South Sudan. Photo: WFP/Gabriela Vivacqua

Schools are uniquely placed to start change in any community, especially in a country like South Sudan. Through combining theory and practice, school gardens are a powerful tool to teach students the importance of nutrition and caring for the environment. In food-insecure countries, the benefits are even more profound, extending to people’s food security and livelihoods.

The World Food Programme (WFP) helps children engage in school gardens as part of its school meals and resilience work. The aim is to teach children basic agricultural skills and provide knowledge about nutrition — a vital investment in young lives.

During my visits to schools in Kuajok in northeastern South Sudan, conversations with community leaders, government officials, teachers and aid workers provided indispensable knowledge and context. However, what I really yearned for was to get a snapshot from a child’s perspective.

School children show off their ripe eggplants at Bakhita primary school in Yambio, South Sudan. Photo: WFP/Gabriela Vivacqua

Catching them young

What did it feel like to have a school garden, and reap what it produces? Did it instill a sense of pride? Was the food they grow supplementing their diet?

“My family didn’t know what tomatoes were, and I wanted to show them.”

Initially, my efforts to include children in the conversation didn’t produce the results I hoped for. They either muttered monosyllables with their heads cast downwards, or tentatively gazed at the adults while timidly and often briefly answering their questions. All attempts to gently say “don’t be shy” fell flat. It was only when we gathered the children on their own that they finally let loose a bit, and the results were as endearing as they were reassuring.

“Now that I can grow my own food, I can sell and eat the produce,” said one child. “When I grow up, I want to study agriculture.”

Future farmers

Once the WFP team arrived at St. Joseph’s Primary School, we headed to the classrooms to collect Ring Madhel Lang, Atol Chol Madut, and Jima Akier Jolo. Chosen by their teachers because of their diligence and enthusiasm, they soon won me over.

First up was Ring’s home. I was impressed by the level of thought and care he had put into his garden. It was clean-cut, meticulously lined and flourishing.

“I used the line spacing technique that I learned at school,” he said with the authority of a seasoned agriculturist. “I really like tomatoes and hope to grow okra as well.”

Ring proudly displays his tomatoes growing. Photo: WFP/Saddal Diab.

Shortly afterwards it was time to visit little Atong Chol Madut’s house. Her teacher, Bassajja Tamale, could hardly contain his pride as he recalled Atong’s curiosity and motivation.

“She saw me demonstrating the techniques, and immediately asked how she could replicate them at home,” he said.

While speaking to her, I was delighted by this determined young girl and ploughed on with my questions. I was most impressed to discover that Atong had placed dry grass in between rows as a method of retaining water.

“My family didn’t know what tomatoes were, and I wanted to show them,” she says. “I would like to eat them and sell the rest to buy more seeds. My mother is very happy, she has asked me to grow other vegetables such as arugula and cabbage. ”

Donor support is vital

Atong sits among her flourishing tomatoes. Photo: WFP/Saddal Diab.

We then headed off to 12-year-old Jima Akier Jolo’s home. Like his schoolmates, Jima also grows tomatoes. He did it in part to demonstrate what he had learned to his parents, but also had other motives. “I want to sell the tomatoes to buy clothes for my family and improve our diet. We currently do not eat different kinds of food,” he said.

In schools where WFP is running the school gardens, children have an opportunity to learn more than academics. Photo: WFP/Gabriela Vivacqua

Once we had finished with all three homes, I watched the little troopers as they boarded a car heading back to school to continue with their learning.

Looking back, not only was it a pleasure to interact with them, but also very humbling to witness how resourceful they were despite their limited means. I was profoundly touched, and basking in the hope that a bright future is possible for these promising children, after all.

Donors have provided invaluable support over the years. Contributions from partners such as China, the European Union, Germany, Japan, Saudi Arabia and the United States are not only helping WFP to reach 450,000 school children with meals in over 1,000 schools, but planting the seeds of hope for future generations.

Find out more about WFP in South Sudan

--

--