Umair Haque’s Advice? Leave America and Find Another Country

Haque says it’s time to leave America, but that’s not too easy. I once wrote a book on immigration. Here’s what you need to know.

The cover of a book I wrote at least a decade ago. Own artwork.

According to Umair Haque’s latest piece, it’s time to leave America. He says that Americans have maybe two or three years to go before it becomes a fascist country, and then all minorities will be persecuted. He does not mention that there might be a nutcase at the helm who decides to release nuclear bombs on the rest of the world (which would be my first concern).

I’m not sure if Haque is right. He makes some claims which I’ve never read elsewhere, and I read pretty widely. That said, I left the States in 2014 because I did not find it a good place to live (although I miss a good few things).

So how do you leave America, if you only have tuppence in your pocket? After all, immigration can be expensive if you aren’t a dual national. It also doesn’t have to be if you know how to go about it, and what you’re prepared to do in order to relocate.

Here are your choices.

  1. Europe. There’s western Europe and Eastern Europe. All of western Europe belongs to the European Union, and if you are accepted into one country, once you obtain citizenship (normally five years), you then have access to being able to live in any of the others. Eastern Europe is substantially less expensive than western Europe.
  2. Africa. Uganda has the most English-speaking people with South Africa coming in second. Ghana has set up a program for Africans to return — the right of abode. To quote from an article in the Washington Post, “As the United States again confronts its history of racism, as outrage again erupts over police killings, leaders in Ghana say they’re rolling out the welcome mat for black Americans who want to get away from the turmoil. The government has negotiated with local chiefs to earmark 500 acres of land near the nation’s center for newcomers, carving out enough space for about 1,500 families. Survey and registration fees are waived for members of the African diaspora.” The most prosperous country in Africa is Nigeria, but it can be pretty violent, and it is corrupt. There are 54 countries in Africa.
  3. South America. Some years ago when I looked into this, I found that immigration to some countries was easier than others. That said, it’s a lot easier than immigrating to a first world country. For some countries, you can enter as a tourist, stay up to a year, apply for residency, and eventually apply for citizenship. Other countries ask you to show that you have an income of $500 per month, and if you can prove that it’s a permanent income (retirement, investment, or some such), you’ll be welcome. It goes without saying that you can live well on that $500 per month.
  4. Australia has always been open to immigrants. I think it’s the only first world country where you can enter as a tradesman. They have a shortage of the trades, and provided you’re qualified, you will be accepted for immigration.
  5. United Kingdom. The UK has become quite difficult to enter, as it is going through a strong resistance to anyone coming from another country. If you’re a nurse, you would probably be welcome, but be aware that it’s not the healthiest of occupations during the current pandemic.

First World Countries

Essentially all first world countries use a scale of desirability — a point system. So if you’re rich with millions to invest in the local economy, provided you’re not a criminal, you will be accepted with open arms. The point system might comprise 100 points, and if you get, say, 75 points, you will be accepted. It’s different for different countries. Countries generally consider the following factors.

  1. If you have a qualification in an area where they are short of people, or where there is a high demand for a particular skill, you are awarded top points.
  2. Do you speak the language of the country? If so, you are given extra points.
  3. Are you under 35 years old? If so, you’re given extra points, because countries want people who are energetic workers with no health problems.
  4. Are you a retiree with a solid income — sufficient to be able to pay your own way in the country plus pay for your own medical experiences? In Ireland that’s $4000 per month plus medical. In Portugal, that’s $1100 per month.
  5. Do you have a few million bucks to invest in a business where you can employ others? You will be accepted with open arms. More points to you.
  6. Do you have some sort of talent or fame that ensures not only your income, but adds some sort of skill level or prestige to the country you’re going to?

Other factors for immigration to first world countries

  1. Were your parents (and sometimes your grandparents) citizens of that country before they immigrated to America? If so, you may be able to apply for citizenship. Generally, if your parents were from another country, they should have applied on your behalf before you were 17 or 21 (depending on the country). However, again, every country has different rules.
  2. If your parents or grandparents or great grandparents were holocaust survivors, you have the right of return for both Austria and Germany. You will be naturalized immediately, i.e. you will be given citizenship immediately, rather than have to live for five years as a permanent resident.
  3. If you’re Jewish, you have the right of return (Aliyah) to Israel. Here’s what a lot of people don’t know. If one of your grandparents were Jewish, even if you’re not, you still have the right of return.

The immigration process

The immigration process can take some years. Mine took 18 months to the USA. There can be quite a substantial amount of paperwork. They include the following.

  1. You will need police checks from every country you have lived in.
  2. You will need a thorough medical check-up. If I remember correctly, at the time that I was going through the American immigration process, people with HIV were not permitted to immigrate there. So you do have to be healthy.
  3. You will need to show evidence of one of the following — a job that is waiting, a sponsor, or sufficient money to tide you over.
  4. There will be interviews, and you will need to show originals of your education qualifications, your birth certificate, and sometimes information about your parents.
  5. You will generally need vaccinations of one sort or another. I know that I had two sets when I went to America (I was living in the UK at the time). I can’t remember what they were, but it’s the norm for every country.
  6. Once accepted, you will generally be given a certain amount of time to get there. If the time expires, you will need to restart the process.
  7. If you have children, depending on the country, if they are under 18 or under 21, they will automatically be allowed in with you. If they are older, they have to apply separately.

Some countries offer Golden Visas

There are an increasing number of countries that offer golden visas. This means you are essentially paying for a passport. This can translate into buying property in the country for a certain value, or simply handing over the money. Some countries will give you immediate citizenship while others will give you permanent residency, and then you have to apply for citizenship.

I’ll give you a brief summary.

  • Portugal $350,000
  • St. Kitts $150,000
  • Dominica $100,000
  • Turkey $250,000
  • Granada $150,000
  • Spain $500,000
  • Antigua & Barbuda $100,000
  • Greece $250,000
  • St. Lucia $100,000
  • Bulgaria $1,250,000
  • Malta $850,000
  • Ireland $1,250,000
  • Vanuata $130,000
  • Germany $500,000
  • USA $900,000
  • Montenegro $350,000
  • Cyprus $2,200,000
  • Cayman Islands $2,400,000
  • Anguilla $150,000
  • Moldova $135,000
  • UK $2,500,000

The difference between citizenship and permanent residence

It’s rare that a country will offer you citizenship if you’re an immigrant. You generally spend five years in the country as a permanent resident, and then you can apply for citizenship by writing a test of some sort. Many people spend their lives as permanent residents in a country. They never apply for citizenship for various reasons, while others apply for citizenship at the first opportunity. It depends on several factors.

In the USA, two thirds of immigrants do not apply for citizenship. I didn’t because if I had, I would have lost my European citizenship, and that was infinitely more valuable to me as I have the right of abode in some 31 countries.

Relocation and settling in to another country

When I left South Africa for Germany some eight months ago, my total cost must have been about $1250. That included shipping my stuff, plus the cost my fare and the first month’s accommodation in a residential hotel. When I moved from Germany to Portugal, it cost me about $350, including reshipping my stuff. When I left the USA for Scotland, it cost me about $1200 and when I left London for Los Angeles, it cost me the most I’ve ever paid to relocate in my life! About $10,000. Bloody hell!

That’s because immigration is a lot more expensive than relocation. When you immigrate, you have to pay the authorities for visas and all sorts of stuff. If there is any way in which you can obtain residency in another country without immigration, it’s a lot cheaper.

Shipping your goods vs buying new

When I first relocated from South Africa to the UK umpteen years ago, I listened to the advice from other people. They said, ‘Take everything because things are so expensive there.’ Worst advice ever.

Life is different in different countries. While a 12' dining room table might be a mite small for your American home, your eating place in most countries in Europe may be smaller than your dining room table. My advice is to leave the furniture behind (Ikea lives everywhere, and there’s always used), take the sentimental stuff, and the things you will need for immediate use.

For instance, when I moved from South Africa to Germany, I was permitted one large suitcase. I took my clothes, my laptops, my camera, and my various external harddrives and flashdrives. That’s it. I shipped my other two suitcases.

Culture shock

I’ve only ever had culture shock in one country in the world. That was America. It was so different to any other place that I’ve ever been to that it took me a good five years to understand that a hooter was a human breast and not a car horn. Different English speaking countries speak English differently. Words don’t always mean the same thing. In America, you use tidbits. In the UK and the rest of the world, you use titbits.

More than that, in other countries, one does not discuss one’s politics, one’s sex life, or one’s religion. These things are not spoken about. I was deeply offended and very anxious when people immediately started talking politics to me. (You could say I’ve changed).

My point here is that some people can cope with differing cultural perspectives. Others cannot. Some people can start a new life elsewhere. Others can’t.

Before you decide to immigrate, first take an extended vacation of sorts to check out the country you’ve decided on. Some people I know had heard excellent things about Puerto Rico. They went visiting. They came back sooner than they expected, and all plans to relocate there were shelved.

Haque — in the final analysis

Haque said a couple of things in his story on escaping America. As I said earlier, I’m not sure if he is right. I do know that I would encourage anybody who has the means to leave America, but not because of approaching fascism.

It’s really just my concern for people living a very tough life in the States. I know the difference between life in the States and life in other countries. Just think, at any given moment, there’s a mad gunman going around shooting people. I also didn’t like the fact that workers weren’t protected, that there is very little welfare or a safety net of any sorts compared to other developed countries, so it’s difficult to remain healthy, and that is a very stressful way to live one’s life.

That said, you will definitely miss things. I miss jitterbug and Comic-Con and friends. I miss California and I miss my proximity to Mexico. Then, again, I also miss London and Spain and Scotland (and, no, I don’t miss South Africa in the least). Haque may be wrong. You may be perfectly okay with the things I found difficult.

Whatever you choose, think it through thoroughly, and remember Murphy is on your back. If anything can go wrong, it will. Relocating to another country is not for everybody. Sometimes, it’s just better to stay home — better the devil you know than the devil you don’t. That said, when you’re finally settled into your new country, you may find you have something you didn’t have before — peace and well-being. Oh, yes, and lots more money and resources.

****

This story has been removed from behind a paywall so that you can read it. Please consider making a small donation (even €1 will do) to me at Ko-fi. My recent work can be found at Survive Climate Change.

--

--

Tessa Schlesinger Global Atheist Am Yisrael Chai.
World Issues — Politics, Economics, and More

Complexity is never easy to explain, and far too many stick to black and white, and forget about the colors and the greys.