Does Free Will Exist?

Noel Bennett
World Literature (2332)
2 min readDec 4, 2020

This question is definitely a heavy one, but to put it simply I believe free will exists. I do think we have some sense of control over our lives, we make decisions daily whether we are conscious of those decisions or not. I don’t think there is some being or thing out there controlling every action we make or deciding what our lives are gonna turn out to be. Now I’m not saying the decisions we make don’t come without consequences, but the ability to make those decisions and influence our lives in our one way is why I think free will exists. Think about it, if I wanted to right now I could just drop everything I care about and drive for miles on end in whatever direction I want to. I made that decision and I don’t think there is anything controlling me or willing me to do so. There isn’t some force or spiritual being pushing me in one way or another. One way to think about it is if you are religious, why doesn’t “god” or whoever you believe in, will everyone to believe in them, why aren’t we all unified by a religion, it’s because we have a choice. Nothing is controlling us. We are only bound by our own limits and this is why I believe we have free will. This is why at times humanity can be selfish and cruel. We are all just trying to make our way in the world and sometimes there are people that use that to the disadvantage of others, but I also think the ability to have free will can be good too. You can make wonderful decisions that positively affect the people around you, like helping to clean up litter on your days off, or helping that old lady cross the road. Nothing is making you do these things, you made these decisions for yourself. We have power to control the decisions we make and the future of our lives can only be determined by those choices.

--

--