Living Through Music

Noel Bennett
World Literature (2332)
2 min readAug 26, 2020

Literature has always been a big part of my life from an early age. I remember the first book that piqued my interest as a young kid, the series Bad Kitty. As I grew older this love for literature matured into bigger books like Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. Slowly however this morphed into a strong love for music, I remember thirteen year old me sitting in class dissecting the lyrics to a number of My Chemical Romance songs. At the time I was dealing with a lot of mental health issues and my parent’s divorce for that matter, so their music resonated with me.

I remember the first concert I ever went to in high school, it was my freshman year and I was with who would be two of my best friends. I remember the surreal moment of when the band walked on stage and the crazy night that followed. My mental health has significantly improved over the past five years, and my love of music has only increased. No matter what I was going through I always had music. As silly as it may sound music is apart of my life and my lived experience, it always been there and will always be there. I can listen to a song from years ago and be pushed back into a memory I didn’t even know I had. It has played such a pivotal role in my upbringing and I think to be quite frank has shaped me into the person I am today. Now at 17 years old, I’ve been to too many concerts to even count and have met some of the most important people to me in my life today. I can’t wait to see how this further shapes my life in the many years to come and people down the road I will meet from it.

--

--