Lucretius pg.45

Mariana Martinez
World Literature (2332)
1 min readSep 9, 2020

I honestly found this poem interesting it made me look at life from a different perspective, though when Epicureanism is talking about his beliefs and ideology over how he thinks that the gods do not have any part in our daily lives and rather they sit on the edge of the universe in a state of peace, he later goes on and confess his love for venus and talks about how she controls every aspect of life on earth, which is confusing and ironic in some way since he isn’t following his ideology or beliefs. However, I liked the way he wrote about Venus and how much is showed that he loved her, that stuck out to me. Overall after reading, I don’t necessarily agree with his ideology, but I would ask the author what led him to write this poem and why to write about Venus?

#Response

--

--