Hello, World!

hʌnz.rx
World of Kráka
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2024

.. And Welcome, New Reader!

In this short article, I present my long-term project to you. What is that? Why is that? When is that? And maybe more.

The Game

It’s a single-player fantasy game.

In 2D-pixel art style.

World of Kráka.

It’s an RPG with farming elements, crafting, and combat. Yes, there will be a story, and the lore is out already.

There will be pets. And yes, pets will be cool!

Quests will be part of the main story, while side quests or daily quests will be there for fun or to support the gameplay.

One crucial open point is yet to be decided. But I’ll leave that for a future article.

Backstory

I was working with a friend, and we had released two mobile games before. But he lost interest in game development, and I was left alone. It sounds bad, but it’s not really.

I always had the idea of building something—a long-term project where I could realize my ideas, crazy jokes, and hopeless dreams.

When I was young, like really, really young, my dream was to write a book. But my career went in a very different direction, and my writing skills could be also better.

I’m a gamer at heart. I also like the retro look of pixel art. And I love coding. All this brings me challenges to overcome, and that’s exactly what I need to stay motivated.

We are a team of three: me, myself, and I. Yep, you guessed it right. I am another solo developer, but this one is highly motivated to actually publish the game, evolve it, and build a community around it.

It’s been almost a year, and the game is still in its early stages. Not even Alpha has been released yet. But I’ve completed some essential features and continue to progress day by day, week by week.

This Blog

The purpose of this blog.

I have been posting weekly “Dev Diaries” in my Telegram group for our tiny community almost since the beginning. It’s awesome, and they’ve been supportive all the time. I love it. Big thanks to all of you if you are reading this. I appreciate you, guys.

But I feel like it’s time to post publicly. Maybe we will gain new community members by this. Maybe I’ll get to know other solo game developers, and we can share our experiences. Maybe I’ll motivate someone to start their dream project. Or maybe no one will read this. The effect is unknown. Anything could happen. But it’s okay; I mostly do it for myself. You know, see the progress I’ve made not only in the code or art, but it feels good writing about it as it goes and reading it later.

You can expect Dev Diaries with progress reports, thoughts on the game, the direction I’ll be taking, and maybe even more. I’m agile, working in agile mode and changing things as needed.

We have a tiny community on Telegram where you can always chat with us. I recently created Discord, too. I’m thinking of using a YouTube channel, but at this point, I feel like it would be too time-consuming. So, maybe later.

You can find the previous Dev Diaries at this link: https://t.me/krakaworldnews

Thank you for stopping by and reading this.

See you soon; the new Dev Diary is loading.

Project Socials

Website: https://worldofkraka.com/
Telegram: https://t.me/krakaworldportal
Discord: https://discord.gg/EtHp2yneQv
Twitter: https://x.com/worldofkraka

Excusez-moi, English is not my mother language so if you find anything weird or inappropriate, let me know in the comments. I’ll gladly take any feedback and improve my skills.

--

--