Travel. Food. South Korea.

15 Mouth-watering Foods You Can’t Miss in South Korea

A guide to the top Korean dishes from someone who’s eaten their way around the country

--

Korean market
Image by tragrpx from Pixabay

Before I moved to South Korea, I was a very different person. I had never tried or even heard of any Korean food. I wasn’t a big fan of rice (Korea’s saying is, “It’s not a meal without rice.”) I couldn’t handle anything hot, and I was terrified of a mere molecule of chili. I fully expected to hate it. Living in Busan was somewhat of a baptism of fire! I learned that tolerance isn’t something that you have or you haven’t. It’s something you can build and practice. I’m so glad that I did because it’s now one of my all-time favourite cuisines, with unique flavours that I could talk about it all damn day.

I want to introduce some of my all-time favourites from living and traveling in South Korea for a year and a half. Here’s a guide to some classic Korean dishes that you can’t miss.

1. Kimchi (Spicy, Fermented Napa Cabbage)

Kimchi is at the heart of Korean cooking. It is listed as a UNESCO intangible cultural heritage. It is usually served cold as a side dish with every meal. It is also used as a base for many soups and stews (we will get to…

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
World Traveler’s Blog

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest