Travel. Advice. Europe.

5 Lessons from the 5 Countries I Travelled Solo

Kiss that girl!

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi
World Traveler’s Blog
5 min readJan 30, 2021

--

You can get kidnapped, you know. You don’t know anybody, the city, or the language. Why are you inflicting trouble on yourself? You’re asking for danger.

Many people around me explained this when I decided to use my savings to travel across Europe at 21. After traveling to 10 cities across nine countries on my own, if I could put my learning in one sentence, it is that:

we need to be more mindful of ‘human’ in humanity.

Traveling alone put me in the most uncomfortable situations, shattered my beliefs, and destroyed all assumptions I’ve ever had. Everything I had ever known felt challenged.

Here are the five most important lessons I have learned from the five countries I traveled alone. Even though I’m an avid reader, these lessons have come by experience that holds far more value.

It’s these lessons that have now become an inner voice, telling me how to approach life.

1. Amsterdam

I was sitting in the corner of an all-you-can-smoke smoking room in my hostel when a woman walked up to me.

--

--