Travel. Mexico. Food.

5 Life Lessons About Living Abroad That a Mexican Dish Taught Me

Gladys Carmina
World Traveler’s Blog
4 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Mole Poblano is reserved for important events only

Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

While living abroad in France for an Erasmus program, I shared my Favorite Mexican dish with my international friends. Afraid of what they would think about it then, I now I have 10 life lessons to share from that delightful experience.

Mexican dishes can be found anywhere in the world. You’ve probably heard of tacos, quesadillas, and burritos. But Mexican cuisine is wider than that.

My Favourite Mexican Dish is:

Mole Poblano is my favourite Mexican dish, and it comes from my original city: Puebla. Mole Poblano is a sauce from the mix of several dried chilis, species, and the most important ingredient: chocolate. ¡YES, sweet spiciness!

There is a legend around the Mole Poblano: It is said that the original recipe included over 100 ingredients. It is also said that this Mexican dish came from a slip from a nun from the Convento de Santa Rosa en Puebla. The recipe didn’t mean to be what it now is.

--

--