Travel. Jamaica. Cruise.

5 Night Jamaican “Dream Cruise” Ends up a Nightmare

Was it a Deal or Deal-Breaker? You Decide

Valerie Delzer
World Traveler’s Blog
10 min readMay 28, 2021

--

Navigator of the Seas Cruise Ship docked at Port of Miama
©Travalerie at the Port of Miami

In March of 2019, I decided to take an Ocean Cruise with my husband aboard Royal Caribbean’s Navigator of the Seas. It was called the 5-Night Jamaican Dream Cruise for Adults-Only, which we thought was because of it being near Spring Break week. We expected there to be some party-goers, but that’s not what happened. Instead, it became a bit of a nightmare. I’ll tell you why as you read further.

First of all, I had never been on a cruise before and wanted to see what it was like. Plus, I got a great interline deal (my husband is a retired Airline employee, and I’m a travel consultant). I booked the upgraded balcony cabin at $125 per person.

I learned the hard way about all the add-ons that really end up costing you way more than you bargained for. Even with a steeply discounted interline rate, we ended up spending way more than originally planned due to the necessity of having to add some of these package “deals.”

We added the Internet package; 1 VOOM Surf + STREAM Voyage Package for 4 Devices, and Deluxe Beverage package for Adults 21+ at $324.50 per person. We then paid $649 total for the two of us to start this cruise. (It seemed like a great…

--

--