Travel

6 Golden Rules for Free Walking Tours

From traveller to a tour guide

Gladys Carmina
World Traveler’s Blog
9 min readMar 26, 2021

--

Author’s Instagram

The first time I listened to a free walking tour I was in Europe. I took several free walking tours: London, Rome, Barcelona, Berlin, and Amsterdam. I never thought that a few years later, I would be facing a group of foreigners surprised by my disclaimer that Cinco de Mayo has nothing to do with Mexican Independence Day.

As a tourist and as a tour guide, I have experience from both sides of the coin. Here are the golden rules for free walking tours that will the experience more agreeable to a group. Everybody is there to enjoy while learning about the visiting city.

Two years ago I was saving money to rejoin my boyfriend in Canada so I had two jobs to have some extra money in my pocket. Monday to Friday I was a high school teacher, where I learned valuable life lessons. And Saturdays, Sundays and holidays I offered walking tours downtown in my city in Mexico.

So here are the golden rules from the experience of a tourist who became a tour guide:

1. Feel free to ask, but don’t expect that guides have all the answers.

--

--