Travel. Edimburgh. British Isles.

A Less-Crowded, Cheaper Alternative Destination to London

And it’s just a hop and skip away.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
6 min readMar 29, 2021

--

Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

My trip to Edinburgh didn’t start well. Only two hours before departing via bus from London, I realized I booked the wrong bus.

I booked the bus leaving the following night. It was an overnight bus, so it was already getting late. Quickly, I asked if I could reserve another night in the hostel: no vacancy.

I called to see if I could get a refund so that I could book the bus leaving in a few hours. It turns out, I was able to swap tickets and avoid inconvenience.

Lesson learned: never be afraid to ask questions.

After a long, sleepless night on the bus, I reached Scotland. It’s about a seven-hour bus ride from London.

Pro Tip: By booking two overnight buses (to & fro), I saved time and money; especially welcomed when both are running low. Whenever I have a chance to travel overnight, I usually do it for these simple reasons.

Where to stay in Edinburgh

My hostel was easy to find; even at five o’clock in the morning after a sleepless night. Castle Rock Hostel was awesome! It’s in plain sight of Edinburgh Castle — one…

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier