A Lovely Afternoon in Northern Ireland’s Underrated Capital

Belfast is the city where the legendary RMS Titanic was built

Panos Grigorakakis
World Traveler’s Blog

--

At Titanic Belfast Museum / Image by author

Belfast probably doesn’t rank high on most travelers’ lists. That’s unfortunate since the capital of Northern Ireland is certainly a special destination. Far from being a typical touristy town, Belfast offers travelers an alternative taste of 20th-century history combined with a rich maritime heritage.

The story of the Titanic had always captured my imagination. So much in fact that it made me want to visit every historical location associated with the ill-fated liner. Hence, it isn’t surprising that I long since wanted to visit Belfast, the place where the legendary ship was built.

When I found myself in Dublin during autumn 2019, I knew I had to cross the border and visit the capital of Northern Ireland-even if it was for only a day. I spent just one afternoon in Belfast, but a very special one for sure.

Trip’s First Stop

The first stop of my trip was at the Peace lines, a series of border walls that divide the catholic from the protestant neighborhoods of the city. The walls were originally erected to minimize inter-communal violence between nationalists (Catholics) and unionists (Protestants) during the outbreak of civil…

--

--