TRAVEL EXPERIENCE

Backpacker Spends 5 Nights in a Croatian Jail Cell— Makes Friends with Guards

The irony of politics and borders

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
10 min readApr 27, 2021

--

Photo by Nick Kane on Unsplash

It had only been four months since leaving Europe. I’d hardly spent any of that time at home, but, still, I was on the heels of my big return.

Wait a minute. Let’s rewind.

To catch you up to speed, here’s a summary of the previous four months: I was banned from Europe. Deported back to the U.S. It had been four months removed from that day.

While trying to figure out where to escape to next, my mind had been on two places; South America and Southeast Asia.

I figured, if I’m banned from the Schengen Zone, there’s not much left for me in Europe. It wasn’t until I got a text from my hometown friend. . .

Ugh! Why did you have to get banned from Europe? Now, I have no one to travel with!

I asked her why we couldn’t travel elsewhere together and we decided to meet up to discuss it. By the end of our meeting, we had come up with a tentative plan.

Croatia!

I was banned from the Schengen Zone, but Croatia wasn’t under the Schengen Agreement.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier