Travel. Europe. Mindful Traveling.

Detained in London — I’m an Idiot

When privilege speaks louder than words in travel.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
5 min readMay 2, 2021

--

Photo by Phil Mosley on Unsplash

** This was written in 2016 and later published on my blog earlier this year. I was a young, dumb first-time traveler who didn’t understand the severity of my actions. Please don’t call me an idiot. I already know. **

In the Salzburg international airport, I sat quietly. I was in fear; a fear of London.

There was something about the city I was scared of. I hadn’t felt as intimidated about travel as I had since I first left home.

I was nervous to return to an English-speaking country. Would it be harder for me to communicate in my own language being away for so long? Still, it’d be nice to be able to read signs and menus.

The beginning of my experiences in London started off rough. I had a suspicion I’d have difficulty entering the United Kingdom. Based on stories I heard from others in similar situations as me.

I was in Europe on a 90-day traveling visa. It’s something automatically granted to all United States citizens. Those 90 days were extended because I was studying in Malta. I was granted to the end of my semester but not a day longer.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier