Travel Tips

How Do I Give Up the Excuses and Travel?

A lesson on taking the leap of faith

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
4 min readApr 3, 2021

--

Photo by Griselda Servin on Unsplash

I imagine if you’ve found this article, you’re getting pretty fed up with a sedentary, routine life.

Am I right?

That is where I was less than two years ago. I had one year of university left without a clue what to do after graduation.

I knew what I really wanted but couldn’t figure out how to escape to where I needed to be. And the place I “needed” to be wasn’t where I wanted to be.

Perhaps, you’ve been in this position before. If so, let me know if this resonates with you:

Every night you go to bed knowing that tomorrow is going to be yet another day. You are trapped in an un-ideal situation. One that forces you to have the same reoccurring dream. A dream about the next opportunity for you to take some time for yourself. To see places you’ve always wanted to see. To do things that inspire you.

But, when that time finally comes, you find yourself making excuses. You shy away from setting forth on the journey. There are a million reasons why you tell yourself you can’t. Often, it’s a financial issue. Other times, it’s a relationship or employment which is holding you back.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier