Travel. South Korea. Teaching

How Teaching in South Korea Gave me a Thicker Skin

Casual daily insults from children and adults alike!

--

Daily life as an ESL teacher in Busan, South Korea (Photo credit to the author)

Casually insulting teachers seems to be a fun pastime for the children at my school.

Daily, at least one child rubs my belly and says the words:

“Teacher, baby?!”

I try to smile and reply that no, I’m not pregnant. They look at my belly and wholeheartedly disagree with me. How can I not be pregnant if I don’t have a flat stomach? It makes no sense to them. But those are the little ones. I’ll let them off. It’s less cute when a 13-year-old kid pokes you in the belly and says one word: “Fat.” Cheers for that.

Another child asks me, “Teacher, why are your legs so big?” I said that I’m an adult, and adults have bigger and different bodies than children. He looked concerned for a minute before shaking his head and saying, “No, that’s not it.”

I wish I could say it’s just the kids, but it’s not. My boss saw me one day in a pair of fitted trousers instead of the usual skirts and dresses I usually wore and exclaimed,

“Woah! I didn’t know your butt was that big! Why is it so big? Is it natural, or do you do squats?”

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
World Traveler’s Blog

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest