Travel Tips

How To Minimize Anxiety and Fear Of Solo Traveling

Helpful Tips for those new to solo travel

Tammy G
World Traveler’s Blog

--

Photo taken by lucillemarnelli from Pixabay

You know that feeling you get when you know you’re standing on the edge of something great and your heart’s pounding out of your chest with excitement combined with some fear? That pretty much sums up solo travel for me.

Even after multiple trips, I still experience this feeling with each new trip and I’ve learnt to embrace it. Over the years, I’ve discovered tips that help me better manage the more stressful parts of solo travel which can cause anxiety. This, therefore, allows me to enjoy my time in a particular destination and make the most of the opportunity. Here are 5 tips that I still use on my trips.

1/ Start in a major city

In my experience, big cities are large cultural melting pots and are often great for first time solo travelers for a few reasons. First of all, it is usually easier to find reasonably priced flights. Also, these cities tend to attract a large number of tourists which mean they already have great resources catering to tourists. I try to visit tourist information centers in a new city as they can be a trove of useful information and I’ve found the staff to be very knowledgeable.

I grew up quite rurally and I love to get out in the country, so even when I stay in a city, I find green spaces nearby so I can get my fill of nature. Day trips are an awesome way to escape the hustle & bustle of the city and spend time in nature.

Another useful tip when you are starting out is to choose countries where you speak the language. Knowing that if I run into an issue along the way, I don’t have the additional stress of a language/communication barrier is a huge plus. I’ve certainly noticed an increase in my anxiety levels when I have travelled to countries where I don’t speak the language well.

Also, choosing a country relatively close to home can also help keep nerves at bay. The knowledge that you’re a couple hours from home vs an 8 hour flight can help with anxiety.

2/ Plan & research your trip

I’ve found that it’s the fear of the unknown that increases my anxiety so taking some time to add some structure to my travel plans is a surefire way for me to better manage anxiety.

I add structure at a macro and more micro level. At a macro level, this includes bookings flights, accommodation and transport between cities where you can usually save money by booking early.

Deciding on accommodation is a major decision for me. I like to stay quite centrally when I’m on my own and being within walking distance of train or bus stations is a major plus for me. Reviews are a useful way to learn about firsthand experiences at the accommodation and can often beneficial as others share nuggets that can improve my stay.

On a more micro level, I create a loose structure for each day as this is a great way to ensure that I maximize my time in a location. It also has the additional benefit of giving my mind concrete activities and plans to focus on. I do leave space for spontaneous activities that pop up during travel as that’s one of the joys of travel for me.

3/ Focus

This point leads on from #2 as I start to plan for my trip. Keeping those aspects of my trip that bring the most joy and excitement forefront in my mind is a great antidote for anxiety.

I’m one of those people who actually enjoy flights and coach rides so my excitement starts to build for these early parts of the journey which often out-balances any nervousness I may feel about my arrival in the new location.

As I begin to add activities and visits to local attractions to my schedule, it also adds to my growing excitement as I start to picture myself in these locations. Oftentimes, I also try to include locations where I have friends so I can include meet-ups as time allows.

4/ Meet new people

I enjoy meeting other travelers and locals especially on solo trips. I’ve found a few great ways to do this:

· Staying in hostels- I’ve found that the environment at hostels lend themselves to meeting and interacting with other travelers. It’s fun hearing about others’ journeys and where they’ve been. I’ve also picked up some great tips along the way including new places to visit, through conversations with other travelers.

· Walking Tours- In many large cities, there are free and paid walking tours. These are great as you can learn about the history and culture of the city especially if you have limited time. Also, it’s a fun way to meet others. I’ve also done bus tours in different cities and I find that the simplicity of the walking tours makes it much easier to approach and chat with others including the guide.

· Clubs- Clubs like Rotary make it really easy to meet up with a bunch of people who share similar interests that you do. I was a member of Rotaract (the youth arm of Rotary) and it opened doors for me to meet other Rotaractors and Rotarians on some of my travels. Also, there are apps and sites that facilitate meet ups with people of similar interests.

4/ Use daily anchors to help you adjust

With traveling, schedules often get turned upside down and it can be hard to stay grounded with so many things changing around you. I’ve found that having routines from life at home that I maintain (usually at the start and end of my day) go a long way in helping me experience a little normalcy amidst all the changes.

For example, in the morning when I wake, I take a few minutes and note 2–3 things for which I’m grateful. With this particular habit, my location doesn’t matter so even if I’m on the plane flying to a new destination, I can take a few minutes and center myself using this practice.

Also, at night spending a few minutes stretching has been a nice way to unwind. I modify the stretches when I’m traveling including some that can be done in bed or sitting which makes it easier to maintain this routine.

These small habits decrease stress for me and help me improve my mindset.

5/ Consider personal safety

Although, this point may seem more applicable to females, it’s certainly one that I think applies to everyone. Personal safety is important and it’s good to be aware of your surroundings and persons around you especially in new places.

On a very practical level, I trained in martial arts during university and I learnt self-defense as part of this training. As a result, I found that knowing that I have these skills is a personal confidence booster. That said, in all of my travels, it has never been something I needed to use and I pray this continues to be the case.

For a more holistic view, I have found Evy Poumpouras’ book Becoming Bulletproof to be tremendously helpful with regards to building self-awareness and improving personal safety. The practical tips she shared in that section had me adding to my own list. I now have other tools I can use so that I am more prepared when I travel and even when I’m home.

There comes that point where you will need to confront the anxiety and fear in order to discover the benefits and joy of solo travel. I hope the tips I shared are helpful to you in your planning phase and while on your solo travels.

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. Neale Donald Walsch

--

--

Tammy G
World Traveler’s Blog

Lifelong learner with a passion for reading & a desire to help others. Current pursuits include writing, web & UX design, travelling & volunteering.