LIVING ABROAD

How To Weather Any Doubts About Moving To A New Country

Be comfortable with that uneasy feeling and go for it

Solly Muwaniri
World Traveler’s Blog

--

Photo by Daria from TaskArmy.nl on Unsplash

Whenever you make a big decision there will be a certain degree of doubt, it’s human nature. You have to be comfortable with that uneasy feeling within your body. It will fade when you take action which leads to satisfaction or you decide not to go down that road. Every-time I relocate those feelings never fail to arise but I have developed steps that dumb them down.

My next planned adventure is to do a one-year working holiday visa in Australia. I want to be somewhere that’s full of nature, open space, and outdoor activities such as hiking and bouldering.

I’m planning this trip around the end of this year with my girlfriend. While we’re in Australia we will visit those beautiful neighbouring islands, Fiji, Indonesia, the Philippines, etc. It’s a big step because we’re moving to another continent (we’re currently in Amsterdam, my 2nd time living here) far away from family and friends.

I was born in Zimbabwe and moved to Ireland when I was six years old with my family. When I received my citizenship in my early teens it didn’t register as a big deal.

It was only when I was older I realized how valuable and stress-free a European passport is when travelling. Unlike most of my family, I wanted to make full use of my passport and travel.

One year into university I decided to stop and start travelling. Months passed and I still hadn’t moved. I convinced myself it was a money issue but I was just scared to leave my comfort zone and everyone I knew.

I would cry wolf, every week I was moving somewhere different. My family and friends grew tired of my cries understandably. This is what helped me to become serious. I put my fears to the side and organized accommodation, a job, and bought a one-way ticket to Amsterdam.

It’s easier to travel when you’re fresh out of high school because you have no responsibilities. When you have a career, business, or other responsibilities it can be hard to leave those things behind.

I like to focus more on the possibilities. Here are some tips on how I overcome my doubts about moving to a new country and how you can have a smoother transition.

Write It Down or Talk About It

The human mind can get muddled with too many thoughts. Without a sense of direction, you will be a victim of what thoughts/feelings you have that day.

By writing down your goals you will have something to aim for. Your ideas will have a sense of direction. You will be able to filter through those superficial thoughts and feelings.

I roughly write down how much money I need, when I plan on going, flight, how I plan on making money when I’m there, and where I will stay. Then life goes on I don’t look at it again (you can if you want). A simple act like that will now make that idea real.

I mentioned how I would cry wolf but that was because I didn’t have a plan. If you have a plan there’s nothing wrong with talking about it and sharing it. When I was in Amsterdam I wanted my next move to be somewhere in France.

I settled on moving to Toulouse in the south of France. I was sharing my idea with a colleague and out of nowhere, he said “do you want to move to Paris and live with my family. I was surprised because I wasn’t expecting it and we didn’t know each other that well.

So share your plans you never know what opportunities will emerge.

Visit First

I’ve lived in Amsterdam, Paris, and London. Before I moved to those cities I visited them first so I could get an idea of what it’s like to be there. This helped me a lot the 1st time I moved.

I travelled to Amsterdam for just a holiday with friends for 4 days. I loved everything about it, the bikes, canals, lifestyle, and the chill vibes (people just seem less stressed from what I can see). I could picture myself living there.

On the last night, we went on a pub crawl. I was sharing my plans with one of the employees. Somehow the next day I had a scheduled appointment for a job interview.

I decided to miss my flight back with my friends and go to the interview. I ended up getting the job and then they helped me find accommodation. I returned to Ireland and told everyone what happened and that I was moving in 2 weeks. No one believed me because of all the times I had cried wolf. My mum only believed me the day she was taking me to the airport.

Its’ not always going to be ideal to visit the place first but if you can I recommend you do, it will help with the transition. On my trip to Australia, I’m not able to follow my advice so it will be the 1st time I’m there.

Source of Income and a Place to Stay

Before every move, I’ve had this sorted out. When you have a source of income and a place to stay it’s a smooth transition. This will settle any nerves and not live you stranded in a country you don’t know. Of course, having some money saved to cover you for the first 2–3 months (including a flight back if you change your mind)

A Benefit of Social Media

We interact with people from all over the globe. Chances are you know at least one person who lives where you are moving to or a friend of a friend. I’m not a fan of social media but in this instance it’s useful.

You can get in touch with an acquaintance. This makes it much better because you’ll know someone and they can ease you into life there. Having someone to talk to will help you settle in.

One Month Mentality

Stepping outside the unknown is daunting, that’s why I tell myself “I only have to go for one month and if I don’t like it I will come back”. It takes the pressure off and you won’t feel like everything has to be perfect when your there.

Generally, for the first 2–3 weeks, I’ve always found it challenging because you have to sort out many things such as taxes, social security number, a bank account, etc. Once that’s out the way that’s when I can finally relax and settle in.

Learn the Language

If you’re going to a country that speaks a different language, it will be a much better experience if you learn the language. I struggled a lot in Paris because my French was poor.

No bank would open an account for me because I didn’t know the language so I had to use an online bank (which is more common now) and it’s frustrating not knowing what’s going on. I tried to learn French but I never really took it seriously.

Final Thoughts

If you want to live in a different country accept that air of uncertainty and do it. If you don't like it or it doesn't work out you can always come back. Focus more on the possibilities, the adventure, and the new experiences you will have.

Sign up for our new newsletter to stay informed with up-to-date curations from our editors:👇

--

--