TRAVEL. ENGLAND. SCOTLAND

London — The First Impression

And the three Rs of the city

Neera Mahajan
World Traveler’s Blog
7 min readApr 7, 2021

--

Image by Author

I am starting a new series of articles about my trip to England, Scotland, and France in May 2019.

After a twelve-hour flight from Singapore, I got my first glimpse of London from the plane’s oval window. I liked what I saw. The beautiful coastline, rectangular pastures, ships entering the open mouth of a river, rows of houses, lines of trees, snaking roads almost clogged with traffic.

Yay! I was in London.

Our plane was on time, but it had to wait for fifteen minutes in the sky queue for its turn to land at Heathrow.

Once inside the terminal, my husband and I raced the older people (the younger one didn’t care) to get to the immigration line. We were duly rewarded by securing one of the earlier spots behind a mile-long line for an immigration check.

We snaked through the barricades nine times to get to eGates. Heathrow was making history that day. eGates was opening on the very same day as self-service immigration checkouts. We were out in twenty minutes. Impressive.

We collected our luggage and raced again to catch the Heathrow Express to Paddington station. The train was already at the platform when we got there. Equipped…

--

--

Neera Mahajan
World Traveler’s Blog

Author of Dare To Create, Eight Steps To Be An Authorpreneur, and How To Write an eBook In One Week | Write Your Book with me in 30 days.