TRAVEL WRITING PROMPT

Finding Energy Vortexes in Sedona

Bell Rock stands tall in its vast, umber-colored desert

--

Photo by Glad Doggett

Our trip to Sedona, Arizona, started as a search for energy vortexes.

A vortex is a special location on Earth where the Earth’s energy is concentrated at specific points. This energy supposedly has a positive effect on people, causing feelings of enhanced well-being, health, and spiritual growth. Bell Rock is reputed to have a strong vortex, and many people often hike there to meditate and connect to their spiritual sides. But most people climb the rock to conquer the challenge and enjoy the view.

Bell Rock, Sedona, Arizona. Photo by Glad Doggett

My brand of spirituality leans toward the “woo woo” side of the spectrum. I collect crystals, burn sage, say affirmations, set intentions, and believe that we are spiritual beings sharing a human experience. So the idea that powerful centers of focused energy that affect humans in positive ways exist on the planet is not too far fetched for me to believe.

Experiencing a vortex firsthand had been on my bucket list for years. So when my husband asked me where I wanted to travel to for my birthday I…

--

--