Travel. Travel Tips.

The Affordable Alternative to Van Life That Might Inspire Your Travels

Before you go buy an expensive vintage Volkswagon, read this.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
5 min readApr 10, 2021

--

Photo by hilary bird on Unsplash

We have all dreamed of that cross-country RV road trip.

Or if you’re like me, you have dreamed of one day purchasing a VW Vanagon.

That’s not what this post is about, though. Check back in five years when I have more money and freedom.

Since I don’t have the money to travel via a fancy van or recreational vehicle, I’ll have to make do with an alternative. This one is about traveling and living in your car. A normal, four-door sedan. Nothing fancy about it.

That is what I did for approximately 62 days in the summer of 2015. I traveled from my home state in middle America to the west coast — 7,300 miles, round trip.

Then, the next summer, I did it again. This time, with my passport in-tow so I could cross the northern border into Canada. I brought all of my belongings. All packed into my trusty 1998 Nissan Altima.

People questioned almost every aspect of my motives.

Could I fit all my necessities in a small car?

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier