Mindful Traveling

The Many Ways Travel Has Made Me Thankful

It’s not always a piece of cake, but travel is worth everything.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
3 min readMar 19, 2021

--

Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

Traveling has made me thankful in too many ways to count. Every day I’m on the road, I feel fortunate for what I’ve seen, done, and learned. I’m fortunate for the people I’ve met who have had the greatest inspirational influence on my life. And most importantly, I’m thankful for the friendships it has brought me.

“While traveling alone, you’re never really alone.”

Many people told me this, but I never imagined it could be as true as it is. Not only will you not be alone, but you’ll befriend some of the most interesting people of your life from all walks of this planet.

I am thankful that I have learned that people are good. With so many things going wrong in the world, traveling has taught me that people are good at their core.

It has taught me an element of trust that I wouldn’t have otherwise. It has taught me to share with others — not because it will benefit me but because somewhere out there, someone else is willing to share with others.

Now, with the world at a standstill, we can take time to be thankful for the life we’ve been afforded. We can…

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier