Travel. Poland. Eastern Europe.

This Polish City Used to Be the Country’s Capital.

Before Warsaw, there was Poznan. Here’s a guide.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
6 min readApr 30, 2021

--

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

I arrived in Poznan, Poland, on a rainy Wednesday afternoon in late March. I found my way to the Old Market Square which would seem as if it was City Center, but it is in fact not.

I met up with my good friend who is a native of Poznan. He showed me around the actual City Center. I acted like a typical tourist and took too many pictures during the “tour.”

There are beautiful, vibrant-colored buildings in Old Market Square. The elegant Adam Mickiewicz University, the site of the near-riot of the 2012 Euro Championships. Even the castle Adolf Hitler was going to move into shortly before he committed suicide at the end of WWII. All right here in Poznan.

It was relieving to finally be in Eastern Europe for a budget backpacker like myself. The cost of living and travel is far less than in Western Europe.

He said during our conversation something that I took to heart. He told me he was so happy that I was visiting Poznan despite it not exactly being a tourist destination. And so was I.

Although it was a bit out of the way, he was one of my better European friends and it was so nice…

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier