Travel. Health. South Korea

What’s it Like to Have Laser Eye Surgery in South Korea?

From start to finish, what is it really like?

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
World Traveler’s Blog
5 min readJan 25, 2021

--

An eye
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Why did I get laser eye surgery in South Korea?

I’m not going to lie; it was half the price of the same surgery in England. Does that mean it’s worse quality? Actually, no, quite the opposite. They have an excellent reputation for the state of the art surgery.

This is the case for a lot of procedures, and medical tourism is quite an industry. It’s very common and easy to access. Pretty much, everyone, I knew who wore glasses or contacts, left Korea without them. Some even had the feedback at the opticians back home that this was the best work they’d ever seen.

So, what is it like to get LASEK surgery?

The procedure

My friend and I both wanted to get laser eye surgery. We book a double appointment for solidarity. They give us both special eye drops. One was an aesthetic so that we couldn’t feel the surgery’s effects, and the other dilated our pupils.

Our crazy pupils were nervously darting about like a pair of first-timers at a rave. The surgeon came in to call either one of us in.

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
World Traveler’s Blog

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest