TRAVEL~UGANDA~STREET FOOD.

When Good Street Food Goes Bad

A cannibalism close call

Jim Latham
World Traveler’s Blog
3 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Photo by Ravi Sharma on Unsplash

When I arrived in Fort Portal, Uganda, back in 1998, Jackson’s samosas ruled supreme over the street food scene. He peddled two flavors from the three-wheeled cart he pushed around the town’s potholed streets: potato curry and beef and peas.

I was working on a chimpanzee project not far from Fort Portal and always bought a samosa or three from Jackson when I was in town for supplies.

No fan of peas, I stuck with potato curry.

It was a good thing I did.

As the months rolled by, I was never disappointed by the spicy, savory filling and the perfect crusty shell.

Then, one day like any other, I came into town and Jackson was nowhere to be found. I made a few extra loops, walking in the rain and fantasizing about the fragrant steam that would rise from the samosa after I took the first bite.

I looked over by the market. Couldn’t find him. I looked out past the post office. He wasn’t there either.

Eventually, I gave up and stopped by a restaurant run by Eddie, an expat Welshman, for a plate of chips and a beer before heading back to the chimps.

--

--