Travel. Travel Tips. London. Western Europe.

You’ll Never Believe This City is Actually the Smallest in England!

Hint: It starts with an “L” and ends with an “ondon”.

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog
8 min readMar 24, 2021

--

Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

So, first, to address the title of this piece (this from London Dreaming):

“If I told you London is the smallest city in England, you would probably think I’m bonkers. Well, be ready to be proved wrong!

Technically, the City of London is only 2.9km squared and has a population of just over 9,000 people. Greater London however, is a whole other matter.”

Now, on with regular programming. . .

Sitting in the Salzburg international airport, I was nervous. Nervous of London. What was to come.

There was something about the city that I was admittedly scared of. I hadn’t felt nervous like that since on a plane leaving the United States for the first time nine months prior.

I was nervous to return to an English-speaking country. Would it be harder for me to communicate in my own language being away from native speakers for so long?

Though, I felt good knowing I would be able to read signs and maps. That had been a hardship I didn’t expect until facing it.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
World Traveler’s Blog

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier