Exotic Holidays and Peace of Mind

Tibz (Thibault Lemaitre)
World Travelling and Holidays
3 min readApr 16, 2013

--

Two weeks ago.

The year was still 2012. A rather bad year, for me personally, and also for most of the people around me. I’m writing rather bad simply because it was not bad per say, but definitely a bunch of things throughout the year that made it much less enjoyable then 2011 (which, for me, had been the best year of my short life thus far.)

Two weeks ago, I was in a distant land. An island, a country, smaller than a county. A place I had heard a lot about before. A place I realized I knew before even setting foot on its ground.

Yet, despite knowing about its climate and its environment, despite knowing the parameters of this country, I was surprised about how much I learnt from it. I was surprised about how relaxing it was and the positive impact it had on me. I was (mostly) disconnected from both my work and social circles. I could spend a lot more time thinking, reflecting, while on the road. And most of all, I feel like on some level, my mind opened up much more easily than I would have thought.

Stepping aside from my “first world problems” and to some extent first world life, I tried to take a closer look at its inhabitants. Although there is definitely an island-spirit to it (that is an overall feeling of being relaxed and/or lazy even in the way you work, sometimes), I tried to understand and relate to the local population.

One of my favorite bits of the trip was not spending an evening at the amazing resort we were staying at. On the contrary, it was that evening that I’ve spent with locals, being hosted, meeting and greeting and learning about their lives. Eating local food rather than dishes imitating what I would find at home. I find it much more enjoyable, authentic and relaxing, to just not worry about things you’re used to and let yourself discover simple pleasures from different cultures. The highlight of that evening was listening to this 60-something local man who went inside the house to grab his wedding picture. He came back with it, and while showing us the framed image, stars sparkled in his eyes as he was proudly explaining that he had been married to his wife for 40 years.

What I learn from my trip is that you don’t need to live on an island to live a simple life. But the more modern world always finds ways to be distracted, whether it’s a new gadget you do not need, or the latest gossips or Youtube videos. The people I’ve met seemed to be much more happy than a lot of people that I know. They seemed more able to focus on what’s important, and if they are to take their time or be distracted, they make sure to do so when surrounded with their close-ones.

It’s already been two weeks, but I feel like this trip has had a much bigger impact than I ever thought it would. If there is one thing I want to take away from it, aside from the kindness of its people, and the beauty of the country, it would be that living a simple and happy life is easier than anyone think. And I believe that by asking the following questions, we can see more clearly in the clutter surrounding us: Do I really need this? Does it truly matters?

It is my belief that in these times of recession and overall ‘depression’, our so-called modern society, for all its benefits, could learn a lot from those living a simpler yet potentially less ‘comfortable’ life.

--

--