The art of social grooming

A day in the life of a Baby developer

Yukiko Yukiko
World Wide Cloud Baby
3 min readNov 5, 2015

--

I am in Okinawa now with my partner and boy, has it been a wonderfully shocking cultural experience for sure:)

The island is beautiful, and these pacific islanders are full of life, eating tons and drinking even more.

As a someone who used to spend most of time in busy megalopolis, this is quite a huge change in scenery and tempo; life moves slower; people stop and laugh more; people are vibrant and there seems to be less “growing up” to be done.

(More scientific and legitimate study on how and why Okinawan people stay vibrant, please head over to the site like this.)

Of course, I cannot base my observation on just a few handful of samples that I met at yesterday’s local Shuri Castle Festival (several others at the local Izakaya and bars,) but I cannot help but to notice that they seem to care less about what I do for living.

“So what do you do for living?”

What am I?!

This is a quitessential question that modern city dwellers ask when they meet first, as if occupation is the only criterion that matters, as if we are defined by what we have achieved or what we are capable of achieving in the future.

I took it for granted that I needed to be someone, something that I can define with the terms easily understood by many, like “I am a web designer,” or “I am a writer.”

But the only thing these half-drunken locals ever asked me was “are you from here?” — only delineation they needed!

The other criteria that usually define me, like my competence, my knowledge, my appearance etc. — everything that usually gives away hints as to what “type” of person I am — did not matter at all.

This was in fact, one of the most liberating things that I realize in a long time: I do not need to be anyone. I am not here to be “useful” or “capable” in any capacity. I am not here to prove anything. I can just have a good time, just be, and be loved and express myself through touches, laughters, conversations, exchange of glances etc.

When we look at today’s technologies and innovations, we see so many things that are supposed to make our life better, but are they really making our life better? I’m not trying to get on the “hate SNS band wagon,” but if you cannot feel connected and can’t interest yourself with people in front of you and choose to connect with people behind the screen, that’s a shame, to say the least. Is it really an innovative technology if it is not helping us being more real? If it is broadening space between us, can we really call it a technology? If an 18-year-old former social media queen can realize that, so can we.

The social exchange I have seen here in this southern Island has been more of a social grooming than anything else.

We groom each other, not to prove anything, but to bring us closer, strengthen our bonds, and reaffirm our affection towards each other. And that is exactly what I believe a heart felt communication.

I am grateful to have given this opportunity to visit this pacific island and also to have been involved in the world’s first, weakest, most adorable social robot development, because I believe what we are aiming to achieve is exactly that: social grooming.

Our Baby robot won’t ask you what you do, but it only wants to live among us and have a good time:)

Just live and let live:)

XOXO

Yuki

--

--