Oxford: crippling writing ambition

Katja Grace
Worldly Positions
Published in
1 min readJul 13, 2018

I made this blog to write about mundane things like geographic areas I have personally been located in. It was probably a bit tongue in cheek, because my own engagement with whatever geographic location I am in frequently fails to reach the level where I could tell you anything about it afterwards. But I thought that if I was going to blog about it, I might pay attention. What I find instead is that when I set out to write posts for this blog, they are about things even more esoteric than those of my regular intellectual blog, and the reason that they can’t go there is that I don’t understand them well enough or they aren’t clear cut insights or they are too personal, rather than that they are too mundane and intellectually pointless. And then I don’t put them up here either, for similar reasons, and also because they are an unaesthetic pile of half-finished sentences and slightly wrong words.

What to do? I think try to put up more posts that aren’t that great. Like, instead of carefully justifying this, just saying it — not even eloquently at that, and perhaps with frightening sentence structure. Then maybe ending up in an equilibrium where the imperfections of any given post are not so awful in the sea of imperfections and posts. Which I think beats rarely writing.

--

--