Oxford: existence

Katja Grace
Worldly Positions
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2018

Dear Mother,

An open virtual postcard from Oxford, now that you aren’t also in Oxford. Thank you for visiting! Lovely to see both you and my relative who shall not be named on the internet. I also enjoyed meeting the crowd of ancient statues that I have spent so long unwittingly neighbor to, at last experiencing the pastoral delights of somewhere near Henley-on-Thames, and introducing you to some of my friends.

Also, I probably don’t say enough, thank you for my existence! I mean, just existing yesterday was amazing and worthy of piles of gratitude. For some illustration, I was licked all over the face by a dog, and saw and ate beautiful red currents with green stems, and walked around inside a cavern of ancient wisteria vines, and lunched on delicious pies, and had the extremely rare experience of being with some of my beloved family, and went walking and talking and lying on the ground and eating and drinking with a good friend, and wore comfy trousers with lots of pockets, and danced around to some music, and thought about stuff in the company of lots of nice pens and paper and a whiteboard. And even if I had done none of that, and just sat here looking at the wall, I think I might be pretty pleased about existing. And then there are other days!

Lots of love,

Katja XOX

Some nature I found, also hopefully enjoying some existence.

--

--