Oxford: unseen possibilities

Katja Grace
Worldly Positions
Published in
1 min readJul 20, 2018

Every morning I do my morning routine. Some evenings I change what is in my morning routine. Recently I added ‘do something you have never done before’, which I had done before, but not in a while.

This was a surprisingly gratifying part of my morning for a little while. I climbed a lamppost (a bit) and bought one of those scratchy gambling things and scratched it off in a park. I found out what happens if you enter Chatroulette, instead of almost entering and then chickening out. But failure to come up with new things that I hadn’t done consistently meant that I kept failing at my morning routine (which is a win-lose game with money on the line). So I made it into an any-time Beeminder instead, but I’m still struggling.

I think this is probably due to that general blindness to the possibilities all around one that humans tend to be crippled by, rather than because I have now used up the six or so remaining things in my vicinity that I hadn’t done. And that is a kind of blindness that I am particularly interested in countering. Which is part of why I get a kick out of this to begin with.

So, any suggestions for things I might not have done, but cheaply could? Or better yet, any ideas for recovering from blindness to the possibilities that are all around one?

--

--