Eve Atkinson: Transitioning from banking to fintech

WorldRemit
WorldRemit
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2019

Eve joined WorldRemit’s customer service team four years ago. Now she manages the on-boarding process for all of WorldRemit’s payout correspondents across the globe.

What do you do at WorldRemit?

I am the Implementation Manager within the Commercial team. I manage the onboarding process for all of WorldRemit’s new payout correspondents, which includes banks, mobile money providers and other financial institutions across the globe.

When one of our Country Managers identifies a new partner, it’s my job to make sure the partnership process runs as smoothly as possible through multiple streams — compliance, legal, technical and financial.

Tell us about your journey into fintech.

WorldRemit was my first role within a fintech company. I joined four years ago along with two other colleagues, Victor and Fahima, from my previous job at one of the largest British retail banks. The culture here is very different. There is a strong culture of internal professional development so that you develop skills to prepare you for your next role. Since joining WorldRemit, for example, Fahima is now a Team Leader in Customer Service while Victor and I have moved into different departments. I work in our Commercial team, and Victor works in Compliance. This would never have happened at the bank.

Eve Atkinson (pictured) is an Implementation Manager at WorldRemit.

What do you like most about your job?

One of the best parts of my job is that I get to speak everyday to different people around the world. WorldRemit has correspondents in more than 150 different countries spanning the globe — from Congo-Brazzaville to Guatemala. Twenty minutes ago I was speaking with a team in Uganda and in an hour I have a call with a correspondent in Kenya. After you’ve been doing it for a while, you come to realise that although people might have different customs and accents, there are more similarities in people than there are differences.

Do you have any role models at WorldRemit?

At WorldRemit all three of my managers, Stef, Adriana, and Alix, have been positive female role models. My job requires a lot of problem-solving as I frequently run into challenges which I haven’t come across before like a new legal requirement, for example, or a data request. All of my past managers have different ways of approaching and overcoming challenges and I have learnt a lot from each of them. And of course our co-founder, Catherine Wines, has always been an inspiration. My experience learning from these women encouraged me to join the Women’s Network Group at WorldRemit.

Any advice for young people hoping to break into tech?

Don’t be put off from applying for roles because you don’t think you meet all of the specifications. Most people won’t meet all the requirements in a job specification. Too develop your skills, you need to challenge yourself.

To learn more about career opportunities at WorldRemit, visit our website.

--

--

WorldRemit
WorldRemit

Hi, we're WorldRemit, the online money transfer service. Here to make it easy for you to send money home.