Spotify Wrapped: An End-of-Decade Musical Flashback

Hannah Michelle Lambert
Worthix
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2019

Spotify is a streaming service known for its curation. It’s a huge reason that so many people, including myself, refuse to switch to Apple Music. Their curated “Discover Weekly” playlist is one of my main sources of finding new music, and I love all of the personalized playlist suggestions. But to tie up the year, and the decade, they’ve gone a step further and introduced Spotify Wrapped.

Opening Instagram this morning, I kept seeing all of these stories about peoples’ top artists, most-played songs, listening hours, etc. from Spotify, so I jumped right on my app to check out my own stats.

In addition to the overall global “Tops”, the standard “Your Top Songs of” 2019 as well as the whole decade, there was a curated story that dove deeply into the music you’ve been feeling. It told you everything about the year and the decade as a whole from top artists, top songs, what music you listened to during what seasons, total listening minutes for the year and for artists, top podcasts, and more, all the while playing clips of the music they’re referring to.

It was such a cool and nostalgic experience for me being able to relive some of my favorite songs over the years and reminisce about the memories associated with them. Though they have always told you your top songs of the year, something I have always appreciated, my experience was a million times more impactful this year.

To put a cherry on top, Spotify knew that people would want to share this awesome experience with their friends, so they made it easy by pre-formatting it in a shareable way and integrating an easy Share feature. You could share to a variety of platforms in a popup, rather than toggling to a different app, allowing you to easily and quickly resume your story experience. Obviously, people still would have screenshotted and shared their screens, it’s just nice that Spotify made it so low effort.

An amazing, customer-centric idea that does nothing but solidifies my decision to never switch to Apple Music.

Want more insights from our expert network? Sign up for our CX newsletter for a monthly summary of all things Customer Experience, and be the Voice of CX in your workplace or friend group.

--

--