Barry on Blox Interview

Kenny Li
Worthyt
Published in
8 min readAug 14, 2018

--

From chicken simulators to, well, penguin simulators, Roblox is a fun massively multiplayer online role playing game (MMORPG for short). And if anyone can guide you through the world, Barry is the one to do it. With over 5,600 subscribers, he has fans coming in from all around the world and all ages. He is committed to a family-friendly environment through all his videos and streams, so it’s a blast to watch for everyone.

Barry started his YouTube channel at the end of June 2017. He has seen impressive growth since that time. By one month, he had over 100 subscribers, and by November of that year, he grew to over 1,000. Now with over 5x that amount, he continues to push content and grow his channel.

We had the opportunity to interview Barry through Worthyt Ask to learn about his strategies and thoughts on how to effectively grow a YouTube channel. Take a look at the interview below to learn about what he recommends, what his own mistakes and accomplishments were, and well, his favorite food! If you have any other questions, you can always ask him yourself through Worthyt Ask — and you’ll be supporting him at the same time:

What got you inspired to start making YouTube videos?

I started Youtube for several reasons. Mainly because Im completely crazy about video games and the creative elements behind them. I love creating anything, from a video, to a drawing. I grew up loving art, drawing, creating things and also video games. Then when Youtube started I was v v interested. I remember showing friends and family and they at that time said “only someone really weird would make videos for the internet” :D !! It was all I watched though with my terribly bad dial up internet before I even knew what Broadband was never mind Fibre. I was interested from back in the day when the really big names of Youtube now had only about 10k subs and that was considered pretty big that time. :) Gaming didn’t start on Youtube for another few years though. I love making friends and meeting people too so I felt that Youtube was amazing in that it combined, creativity, meeting people, and then of course video games too when they started. I started Youtube about 6 years ago with another channel but I deleted that channel as I wasn’t happy with it and I felt it wasn’t really me. Years later though I couldn’t get Youtube out my mind and just started from scratch all over again. :) This time I wont delete the channel as Im happy with the content and Im just being myself. Making videos makes me smile from the moment I start the work until I finish it and its uploaded. It can be v hard work keeping a “real job” too as well as daily work on YT but very much worth it. Tonne of fun to be had .

What was one of the biggest mistakes you’ve made when trying to grow your channel? And what was one of the best things you did?

I’m not sure about the biggest mistake I made so far on this channel but I do know when I had other channels years ago one big mistake was doing something that didn’t make me happy for the sake of following trends. I was trying to make content I thought people wanted instead of what I wanted to make. Trying to copy other people or follow other peoples success does NOT work and will make you unhappy. I know first hand. The fun quickly goes from it. I know its a cliche but honestly just having fun and being yourself is the secret to being able to work every single day at it without feeling tired of it or unhappy doing it. Plus back then I was letting friends sometimes script the videos which I just didnt like or feel comfortable with. I hated not being authentic and just being some persona that we thought would “work” on YT. The best thing i did personally was just make content I enjoyed making myself and made me laugh. It makes the work seem like play even the editing elements which are tedious. While editing I spend half the time laughing at stuff that happened during the recording part. Its very good fun and I dont get tired of it. Im doing what makes me happy instead of what I hope others want to see. I take advice from my viewers all the time and ask what they want. Then I go for a compromise between something both myself and the viewers enjoy. Its great :)

What is one piece of advice you would want to tell someone trying to grow their YouTube channel?

Personally I think together you are stronger. I think collaborating and working with others is key to growth. I see a lot of people acting with a scarcity mindset or a competitive mindset but I think personally its the exact opposite. I think there is no shortage of people to support you if you support others yourself too. Share others out and lift people up if you can. When you do things for others and don’t want or expect anything in return somehow, some way inevitably you will get some good in return. :) It may come in some form you didn’t expect but it will come. Only good can come from helping others, sharing others or collaborating. Even if i’m wrong and you don’t grow yourself its a great feeling helping someone out :)

What do you think makes the difference between a successful and unsuccessful YouTuber? Do you think you have that quality?

Wow…..I really dont know Kenny :) I have no idea what makes someone successful and someone else unsuccessful. Everyone has different ideas of success. I guess one marker in my eyes of someone who is unsuccessful is someone who is making someone else feel bad about themselves or uses their content to put others down. Thats something that probably gains attention but isn’t right and in my own opinion is not success. Success is helping others if you can. I don’t know if I have the qualities of success but I’m absolutely going to try hard :). I try to improve my content every day and improve myself as a person also.

If you could create another YouTube channel, what would it be about?

I read a lot and i’m always trying to improve myself as a person. Improving my health, fitness, work ethic, attitude and relationships is important to me and I would like to make a channel in years to come about self improvement and motivation so I can share all my experiences.

How do you find the motivation to keep creating content? Do you have a publishing schedule or do you wing it? Which would you recommend?

I’m motivated to create the content because I love it, it makes me happy and my viewers are the best fun ever :). Sometimes i’m exhausted from working my day job and it can be difficult to maintain making daily content every single day without fail as well as a full time job but when you love doing something it makes it easier to manage. Some days I feel way too tired but then I read my comments and they instantly get me motivated and remind me not to let the people who are supporting me down. Its virtually impossible for me personally to keep to a strict time schedule. The time of my upload every day varies because of my other job and different working hours each day. The schedule I keep is that I will upload every single day. Some days I upload two videos. Some weeks I upload two every single day but thats not always possible. I cant stick to a tight time of day schedule but I do stick to the daily uploading schedule. I think if I was able to stick to the exact same time every day that would be better. Thats what I would recommend myself and hopefully some day I can do it too.

Whats the most exciting thing about Roblox? Give us an elevator pitch about why we should get into it!

I’m not sure what the MOST exciting element of Roblox is but as a whole its pretty amazing. It enables people to do so much its unreal. You can learn to script, model and build games through Roblox and become a game dev possibly even earning enough income through it to make it a full time job. You can use the games to make video content which is encouraged by Roblox and is a tonne of fun while also being family friendly for all ages. Its a platform used by kids, teenagers and adults alike. The Roblox team are also amazing people and very supportive of interns, devs, and creators. Its a great thing to get into for all ages. You should actually approach them Kenny and see if you could strike a collaborative idea with your great Worthyt initiate :) You could support game devs with tips or asks too :) It would be amazing.

If you could eat one thing in the world for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?

Potatoes :) hahah gotta be in keeping with those Irish stereotypes right :). Yes I really really love potatoes XD. Especially mash. Thats my thing right there :). All day everyday would be awesome.

--

--