Unbundling First Referendum

David Margulies
EOS Worker Proposals
2 min readOct 17, 2018

What follows is the personal opinion of an opinionated person and not a formal statement from the WPS Group — because that’s what EOS is governed by: a collective of individuals.

For the past few EOS-decades (Earth-weeks), the WPS team has been discussing whether we will continue to propose bundling the core activities in our first referendum. Our first instinct was to include these urgent needs:

“From this fund, budgets will be set aside to support the EOSIO Core Arbitration Forum (ECAF), EOS Mainnet code repository management, security testing, and Emergency Committee Operations.”

As discussions have progressed and we have repeatedly revisited this issue, I have come to change my personal stance.

I was a strong proponent of bundling for numerous reasons. However, as I started looking into the art of designing ballots and language for referendum, I realised that there were too many ingredients in our stew: we, as the team working on WPS, needed to focus on WPS in the referendum.

Therefore I would like to suggest that we decouple the non-WPS activities from the first WPS Referendum and instead have these activity proposals be presented to the Emergency Committee for separate community votes.

To be absolutely clear: I, as an EOS Holder, firmly believe that we need a properly funded, trained, operating Core Arbitration System with a central Dispute Resolution Rule Set, immediately. Without such, we as a platform, will become irrelevant in a very short time — Ethereum 2.0. As a potential member of the emergency committee, I will work closely with any proposal that plans to get Core Arbitration off the ground and I would hope that the community supports a well-crafted proposal to get approved.

I also believe that Mainnet code repository management, and security testing support need to be passed as proposals within the first few months. It is a clear indication of how unfinished the EOSIO system was when launched that these activities were not addressed on day one. Again, the only reason for unbundling these urgent and mission critical jobs is to keep the focus of the first WPS referendum on WPS and the creation of a safe management system for the EOS Commons.

I would like to hear your feedback and comments. Comment below or hit me up on Telegram, @dmargulies. You can also contribute to the ongoing work at https://t.me/eosio_wps

--

--