NF: “Lie”- From Perception Album

Ava Vogt
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
2 min readMay 24, 2024

One of my all-time favorite songs comes from an album called “Perception” by NF. He’s a more unknown artist who released this album in 2017. The song “Lie” from this album was a song that I really connected with. NF is a rapper who writes and connects with his audience through his life and his life experiences.

This song discusses relationship issues, and drama and then discusses betrayal of trust with a person that you love. I was going through some personal problems that were affecting my mental health and I found his songs through a friend and started listening to it and was really connected to the lyrics he was talking about. Discussing love as well as struggling with social struggles, friendship are all topics that this rapper discusses. His style of music is rap but also the lyrics are what make his songs very significant. Here are some lyrics:

I heard you told your friends that I’m just not your type
If that’s how you really feel, then why’d you call last night?
You say all I ever do is just control your life
But how you gonna lie like that?
How you gonna lie like that?

NF really connects to his fans about mental health awareness and how much his songs can help with that. Talking about his life and making his lyrics meaningful about his life is making these songs in his albums significant because they talk about his successes and struggles in his music career as well as his personal life.

That was what this song does for me personally, understanding his life and what he went through. This song is more of a catchy beat, and you don’t need to be so invested and enjoying the song because of the chorus, because NF has sadder songs than this, so this is more enjoyable for me to listen to and genuinely enjoyed and keep listening to this song.

--

--