No More Parties in L.A. by Kanye West feat. Kendrick Lamar

Holden Watkins
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
2 min readOct 24, 2022

“No More Parties In LA,” the first single released off Ye’s 2016 album The Life of Pablo, is a glimpse into the avidity of Luxury and the L.A. Lifestyle from the rapper’s lens. A fan (and personal) favorite off the album, the track arguably ushered in the hype which would earn 2016 the title of one of the best years for rap music. In 90 bars, Ye also signals his retirement from the high life as he enters fatherhood. Featuring samples from Ghostface Killah and Larry Grahm accompanied by masterful production from Madlib, the track is Ye’s inaugural return to the rap game as he announces, “I know some fans thought I wouldn’t rap like this again/But the writer’s block is over; emcees, cancel your plans.” Reaching new heights, the track is also the first collab between Ye and L.A. native Kendrick Lamar, who lays down powerful bars on the tribulations of the high-roller lifestyle.

“No More Parties in L.A.” earns further notoriety as it is within the second verse from Ye that births the inspiration for the name of his 7th studio album. The title is presumptively derived from the lyrics, “I feel like Pablo when I’m workin’ on my shoes, I feel like Pablo when I see me on the news, I feel like Pablo when I’m workin’ on my house.” In these bars, Ye, channeling infamous kingpin Pablo Escobar, renowned artist Pablo Picasso, and even the apostle Paul, signals his metamorphosis into a new era. The Pablo era Kanye was massively transformative for the culture at the time and paved the way for major producers like Metro Boomin to be in their current position. You could not go far without hearing Ye’s new sound or seeing Yeezy sneakers in 2016, in fact, the combined album release / Yeezy Season 3 fashion show live stream from Madison Square Garden was tuned in to by over 20 million people, demonstrating Ye’s influence at the time.

--

--