Type Shit

Ben
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
3 min readMay 24, 2024

Type shit is a song that has never gotten old for me. Although it only came out less than two months ago on March 22nd, 2024, I must listen to it at least once a day. The song starts with an insane number of bass that somehow seems to get bassier as the song goes, if that’s even a word. The first note is followed by a bell/gong type note that plays thorough the song. Future starts by immediately rapping with his distinct voice,

“I don’t hang with rats, that’s some new type shit”

hinting at the possible drake beef as Future used to be cool with Drake but no longer is.

During the whole song Future rhymes the end of each line with type shit, and those accompanying Future on the song, Travis Scott and Playboi Carti continue to do so as well.

About 2 minutes into the song Future raps

“Kick the slow flow, jitsu type shit”

Followed by a mysterious distorted voice rapping

“Red lock in my dreadlocks, I’m on bool type shit”

When the album first released there weren’t any features listed which lead to some cool reactions of people realizing this mysterious voice was Playboi Carti.

Popular streamer Kai Cenat reacting to Playboi Carti on Type Shit

Playboi Carti is a very interesting artist as almost everyone including his fans cannot understand what he is saying but it sounds cool so people (including me) listen to it, even though I wouldn't consider myself a fan of his.

One of Playboi Carti’s bars became semi viral because of how unintelligible it is which became one of my favorite lines…

“Sumonechebluhoheh shumonehchemega semajeijoujea Type Shii”

What do you think Playboy Carti is saying?

Produced by Metro Boomin in his joint album with Future there is a variety of beats on each song as Metro said to be the best hip hop producer of all times by many. This album is also credited in reigniting the Drake and Kendrick Lamar beef with the 6th song “Like That” having Lamar’s famous line “Its just big me!” claiming he’s the best rapper of our time.

This song has a personal connection to me because right when this album came out I had just put a 12" subwoofer in my 2000 Chevy Impala named the Pimpala. I was so excited to play bass boosted songs in the car and this was one of my favorites to play when inviting friends into my car.

My Pimpala has since passed and I have now put the 12" subwoofer in my new 2016 Ford Explorer and it still hits just as good as it did in the Impala. I am dedicating this article to my Pimpala. RIP.

--

--