Van Morrison’s Brown Eyed Girl

Brewingtonbri
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
2 min readMay 24, 2024

The song that I would like to add to the class playlist is Brown Eyed Girl by Van Morrison. This song is special to me because it is a song that my mom has always sung to me ever since I was a little girl. Whenever I hear this song I am immediately reminded of my mom. I find it very powerful and special that something as simple as a song can remind me of someone that is so important to me, especially now that I am no longer living in my hometown. Me and my mom have always been very close, as it was only the two of us growing up. That is another reason that I love the connection that this song can provide. As I was researching a bit more into this song, I was taken to a link that took me to the “meaning of having brown eyes.” Apparently, having brown eyes means that you will be seen by others as “intelligent, kind, and most trustworthy.” In all honesty, I highly doubt that my mother was aware of this. It was more likely the fact that I quite simply have eyes that are brown that made her sing this to me. In researching I also found that this song was meant to be a simple and joyful song which I find to be fitting because me and my mom love to sing and listen to music with each other, especially in the car. Being in the car and screaming out song lyrics with my mom are genuinely my favorite moments with her.

--

--