Wang Dang Doodle

Nicole R Stammers
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
2 min readMay 27, 2024

Wang Dang Doodle By Koko Taylor

Image Credit https://www.alligator.com/artists/Koko-Taylor/

“Wang Dang Doodle,” a blues song written by Willie Dixon in the early sixties, is a fun and catchy song about gathering an assortment of people together for a party. Koko Taylor’s version of the song, with her powerful, sometimes gravelly voice, is considered the most popular of the versions, and for good reason. She brings a personality to the lyrics that is hard to replicate.

Being my mom’s favorite blues artist, Koko Taylor was part of the soundtrack to my childhood, along with Patsy Cline and The Cure. I remember going to Chicago’s Bluesfest to see her as a small child and dancing the whole time. “Wang Dang Doodle,” in particular, brings me back to my childhood and reminds me of my mom every time I hear it. I picture the CD player speakers blaring as my mom cleans the apartment and I dance on the carpet.

Born to sharecroppers in Tennessee in 1928, Koko Taylor moved to Chicago and began singing in nightclubs in the 50s when she was discovered by producer Willie Dixon, one of the most prolific producers of Chicago blues music of his time, and a very talented songwriter. Dixon had written the song already and convinced Taylor to sing it. The song has a strong, rocking beat that inspires head-bopping and foot-tapping in even the staunchest of non-dancers. In true Chicago blues fashion, the music is filled with electric sounds, with influential Buddy Guy on guitar.

“Wang Dang Doodle” is a classic of Chicago blues, and even though Taylor passed away in 2009, her legacy lives on through this song and the power it holds: the special ability to make people happy.

--

--