Why we love, love

Jonsteinbach
WRD 288: Rhetoric and Popular Culture
2 min readMay 24, 2024

Nicki Minaj’s rap ballad, “Your Love,” is angelic, dreamy, and full of the greatest emotion one could experience: love. The track was released on June 1, 2010, as part of an ensemble for the hit artist’s debut album Pink Friday. Nicki’s song depicts the feeling we have when we have a deep love for someone. Through expression and confession, Onika Tanya Maraj, and Nicki Minaj, communicates the beautiful feeling of finding our person.

“When he call me mama, lil mama, I call him baby, Shorty I’mma only tell you this once, you the illest”

Maraj emphasizes the importance of loyalty and the dedication she has for the man she holds near to her heart. Nicki finds herself completely consumed but the beauty of love and even confesses to him how she finds him to be the coolest guy, one she gets butterflies around. I find her lyrics astounding for how it depicts women in love. Nicki tells the world how important loyalty and dignity are when treated right by our lovers. Her dreamy instrumental and echo vocals in the background build the atmosphere of daydreaming about the people we have feelings for. During the chorus, Minaj confesses the feelings of safety and innocence around this man.

“You’re like a candy store, and I’m a toddler, You got me wanting more and more of, Your love, your love (yeah)”

I find myself feeling the same way she does when I think about my boyfriend; mesmerized and immersed in him. Similar to Minaj in the end of the song, I find myself needing this person. Nicki finishes the song with:

“Find me in the dark, I’ll be in the stars, Find me in your heart, I’m in need of your love”

Expressing her deepest desires and a genuine attraction to her love, Maraj concludes the track yearning for more. Acquiring a large audience throughout her career, Onika has amassed a large fan base. Her expert lyricism and openness when it comes to her vulnerabilities and insecurities with fans, has contributed to her successes greatly. Despite this track releasing over a decade ago, it has become a staple in our hearts for how truly beautiful love can make someone feel.

--

--