A New Era of Global Collaboration

Jessica Liang
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readAug 26, 2020

Why should an individual’s success and prosperity be determined by where they are born or what race/ethnicity they are? Where can these individuals turn to if their local communities lack sufficient resources or are inefficiently governed? Questions like these constantly preoccupy my mind as I listen to hours upon hours of the latest news reports on issues like foreign immigration, refugee camps, education inequalities — the list goes on.

That being said, I am working towards becoming a more active global citizen. As our world fosters into a more interconnected future, we are moving away from the limitations of our national boundaries. By opening our perspectives, we allow ourselves to be more conscientious of the disparities and injustices of the world as we simultaneously create an environment that promotes global well-being rather than individual success. We have moved away from the false dichotomies of parochialism and entered a new era of cosmopolitan collaboration.

Identifying as a global citizen doesn’t necessarily mean we can’t take pride in our nationalities, ethnicities, or cultures — nor does it mean we neglect the needs of our local communities. I identify as a global citizen, but I also cherish my American values as much as I cherish my Chinese background. But I also recognize that living here in a first world country has given me an advantage compared to those living in developing countries that may be suffering from poverty, hunger, and injustices that don’t burden me as much.

The concept of globality is the final, somewhat-utopian goal of globalization. Citizenship is not just a status of being from a particular country; it is the ability to influence and promote social well being for the greater good. It is this activism that gives us the opportunity to accelerate large scale positive change around the world. Ultimately, it is our interconnected coexistence that renders us as global citizens. We all share the same human experience, and having said that, I simply believe that the world’s future depends on global citizens.

--

--